Infocenter

Data & photos
about our projects
> Windfarms

Importance of the energy turnaround

Germany’s ambitious national energy turnaround project has been an issue of intense societal debate on future power supply since 2011. How can we generate green electricity, and above all, what will it cost? Phasing out fossil fuels and nuclear energy not only offers enormous economic potential for the renewable energy industry but also gives us all the opportunity to manage the resources of future generations in a responsible way.

One of the leading technologies for implementing the energy turnaround is wind power, which currently supplies 8 percent of all electricity in Germany, putting it at the forefront of the renewable energy sector.

Wind energy is a booming industry; about 1,700 turbines were installed last year in this country. Here the state of Lower Saxony is particularly strong. About a quarter of Germany’s wind energy installations, and therefore a large part of the repowering market, lies between the North Sea and the Harz mid-range mountains.

But potential is far from exhausted; the share of wind power in the electricity mix is expected to increase to 25 percent by 2025. Reaching this goal would reduce Germany’s CO2 emissions by 20 percent. But this can be achieved only if Germany’s policies continue to provide reliable growth conditions in future and do not slow down the energy turnaround. Grid expansion and the development of new storage technologies also need to move forward.

  • Will relying on renewable energies make electricity more expensive?
  • What happens when the wind does not blow and the sun does not shine?
  • Is the energy turnaround socially equitable?

You will find detailed answers to these and other questions in the information material posted on the Erneuerbare Energiewende Jetzt! initiative’s website. [Information is available in German only.]

Infos about the onshore wind energy

Environmental protection has been a concern for all of us since well before the 2011 nuclear disaster in Fukushima. But ever since the fatal reactor accident in Japan, energy policy in Germany has greatly emphasised the rapid implementation of an energy turnaround, the Energiewende.

Generating wind power on land is a driving force behind this intention. In the past two decades, onshore wind power has emerged from a niche to become a leading renewable energy technology. Making up more than 8 percent of the power mix, it already supplies nearly half of all renewable electricity in Germany. In 2014, more than 24,867 wind turbines with an installed capacity of over 38,115 megawatts produced green power for businesses and households.

Regional value creation = a win-win situation for all
Good projects in renewable energies can benefit all parties, whether they are planners, turbine operators, or the citizens and communities involved. Constructing and operating wind turbines creates jobs.

Community-owned windfarms often assign contracts for roads, foundations and services to businesses in the region. Agricultural operations also stand to gain another source of income when a farmer becomes an “energy farmer”, and local business taxes flow into municipal coffers. Added to that, income from the leasing of land remains in the region to a large extent and strengthens local purchasing power.

Some 137,800 people were employed in the wind energy industry in Germany in 2013. A breakdown of jobs according to individual federal states showed that wind power generation was providing employment across the entire country. By 2030, as many as 160,000 people could have jobs in Germany’s wind energy industry on land.

For comprehensive information on wind power technology, please visit:

Downloads

Company brochure (german)
PDF
4,46 MB
Download
fileadmin/user_upload/downloads/WestWind_Imagebroschuere_2013.pdf
Flyer operational management (only german)
PDF
154 KB
Download
fileadmin/user_upload/downloads/Flyer_Betriebsfuehrung_2013.pdf
Company Brochure (english)
PDF
4,47 MB
Download
fileadmin/user_upload/downloads/WestWind_Imagebroschuere_englisch_2017.pdf

Receive free
broschures by post?
Click here!


Please download the free Adobe Reader
to open our PDF files.

Our partners

Infocenter

Daten & Fotos zu
Unseren Projekten
unter Windparks

Bedeutung der Energiewende

Seit 2011 sorgt das ambitionierte Projekt „Energiewende“ für gesellschaftliche Debatten über die Stromversorgung der Zukunft. Wie können wir sauberen Strom generieren und vor allem zu welchem Preis? In der Abkehr von fossilen Brennstoffen und Atomenergie liegt nicht nur großes wirtschaftliches Potenzial für die Branche der Erneuerbaren, sondern für uns alle die Chance, verantwortungsvoll mit den Ressourcen künftiger Generationen umzugehen.

Eine der führenden Technologien bei der Umsetzung der Energiewende ist die Windenergie, die mit einem Anteil von 8 Prozent an der Gesamtstromerzeugung derzeit an der Spitze der Erneuerbaren steht.

Die Windenergie boomt, im vergangenen Jahr wurden etwa 1.700 Anlagen hierzulande installiert. Ganz vorn in Sachen Wind liegt übrigens Niedersachsen: Rund ein Viertel der in Deutschland installierten Windenergie und somit auch über ein Großteil des Repowering-Marktes findet sich zwischen Nordsee und Harz.

Doch das Potenzial ist längst nicht ausgeschöpft: Bis 2025 soll der Windstromanteil auf 25 Prozent steigen. Ein Ziel, dessen Umsetzung den CO2-Ausstoß in Deutschland um 20 Prozent verringern würde. Das kann allerdings nur erreicht werden, wenn die Politik auch künftig für sichere Rahmenbedingungen sorgt und die Energiewende nicht ausbremst. Zudem müssen der Netzausbau und die Entwicklung neuer Speichertechnologien weiter vorangetrieben werden.

  • Steigen durch die Erneuerbaren Energien die Strompreise?
  • Was passiert, wenn der Wind nicht weht und die Sonne nicht scheint?
  • Ist die Energiewende sozial ausgewogen?

Diese und andere Fragen beantwortet ausführlich das Informationsmaterial, der Initiative „Erneuerbare Energiewende Jetzt!“.

Infos rund um die Windenergie an Land

Der Schutz unseres Klimas geht uns alle an, nicht erst seit Fukushima. Aber seit dem fatalen Reaktorunglück in Japan setzt die Politik hierzulande auf die zügige Umsetzung der Energiewende.

Die Onshore-Windenergie ist dabei treibende Kraft. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat sie sich aus der Nische heraus zur führenden Erneuerbare-Energien-Technologie entwickelt. Mit einem Strommixanteil von über 8 Prozent macht sie schon heute fast die Hälfte des gesamten Erneuerbaren Stroms in Deutschland aus. In Deutschland produzierten im Jahr 2014 mehr als 24.867 Windenergieanlagen mit einer installierten Leistung von gut 38.115  Megawatt sauberen Strom für Unternehmen und Haushalte.

Regionale Wertschöpfung = Gewinn für alle
Gute regenerative Projekte lassen alle Seiten profitieren: die Betreiber der Anlagen, die beteiligten Gemeinden, die Planer und die beteiligten Bürger. Beim Bau und Betrieb der Windenergieanlagen entstehen Arbeitsplätze.

Im Falle von Bürgerwindparks gehen Aufträge für Wegebau, Fundamente oder Service-Dienstleistungen häufig an regional ansässige Firmen. Landwirtschaftliche Betriebe verschaffen sich ein weiteres wirtschaftliches Standbein nach dem Motto „vom Landwirt zum Energiewirt“, und Gewerbesteuern fließen in die kommunalen Kassen. Zudem bleiben Pachteinnahmen zu einem großen Teil in den Regionen und stärken die Kaufkraft vor Ort.

Im Jahr 2013 arbeiteten in Deutschland rund 137.800 Menschen in der Windenergie. Eine Aufschlüsselung der Arbeitsplätze nach Bundesländern hat ergeben: Strom aus Wind sorgt bundesweit für Beschäftigung. Bis 2030 könnten hierzulande im Bereich der Windenergie an Land sogar bis zu 160.000 Menschen tätig sein.
(Quelle: BWE)

Umfassende Informationen zur
Windenergietechnik finden Sie hier:

Downloads

Windbote 15-jähriges Jubiläum
PDF
608 KB
Download
fileadmin/user_upload/downloads/2013-11-29_WestWind-Beilage-Kreiszeitung_.pdf
Flyer Betriebsführung
PDF
154 KB
Download
fileadmin/user_upload/downloads/Flyer_Betriebsfuehrung_2013.pdf
Company Brochure (english)
PDF
4,47 MB
Download
fileadmin/user_upload/downloads/WestWind_Imagebroschuere_englisch_2013.pdf

Prospekte kostenlos
per Post erhalten?
Hier Klicken!


Laden Sie sich den kostenlosen Acrobat-Reader
herunter, um unsere PDFs zu öffnen.

Unsere Partner